𝐅𝐫𝐞𝐞 𝐈𝐏𝐋 𝐏𝐫𝐞𝐝𝐢𝐜𝐭𝐢𝐨𝐧𝐬 𝐨𝐧 𝐓𝐞𝐥𝐞𝐠𝐫𝐚𝐦 🏏👉


List of Top Run Scorers in the IPL

The Indian Premier League is more than just cricket matches; it's a cultural phenomenon that has gripped India. It generates billions for the Indian economy.

From tourism spikes in host cities to sponsorships and franchise valuations, the league creates a wealth of opportunities. The IPL employs a vast workforce, from players and coaching staff to stadium personnel and hospitality workers. This job creation fuels local economies and empowers communities.

The IPL's fast-paced format with shorter matches and strategic innovations has redefined cricket viewership. It's introduced a younger audience to the sport and broadened its global appeal. It also provides a platform for young Indian cricketers to showcase their skills alongside established stars.

This not only strengthens the national team but also creates future sporting heroes. However, every year Indian Premier League also brings India’s run-scoring machine Virat Kohli into the spotlight. He has been the heartthrob of Indian cricket for a long time and recently Kohli became the highest run-scorer in the history of the league. 

In his 16 years of IPL career, Kohli leads the charts with 7361 runs in 239 matches at an average of 37.36 and a strike rate of 130.16. His innings also involve 7 centuries and 51 half-centuries. The journey to the top has been commendable without it will go down as a fairy tale in the history books.

The Rise of King Kohli

Fresh off leading India to victory in the 2008 U-19 World Cup, a young and fiery Kohli was picked by RCB in the inaugural player auction.  While his initial seasons were marked by potential rather than dominance, signs of his future brilliance were evident. 

In 2010, he smashed his maiden IPL century, a 109-run knock against the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), showcasing his ability to thrive on the big stage.

The year 2013 marked a turning point in Kohli's IPL career. He took over the captaincy of RCB, igniting a new passion in his batting.

The 2016 season was his crowning glory. He amassed a staggering 973 runs, the highest of the season, with a record-breaking four centuries. His aggressive batting, coupled with his exceptional leadership, propelled RCB to their first-ever IPL final, though they fell short against the Sunrisers Hyderabad.

While Kohli never quite replicated the highs of 2016 in terms of the sheer volume of runs, his consistency remained remarkable. He continued to be the bedrock of RCB's batting, scoring fifties and hundreds with regularity. 

As captain, he brought a fierce intensity to the team, demanding excellence from himself and his teammates.  Despite leading RCB to three playoff appearances during his captaincy stint, the elusive IPL trophy remained out of reach.

In 2021, Kohli stepped down from the RCB captaincy, seeking to rediscover his batting form. The 2022 and 2023 seasons (as of March 2024) have seen a slight change in his approach.

While still a vital cog in the RCB batting line-up, he has adopted a more composed style, focusing on building partnerships and anchoring the innings. 

This tactical shift, along with the experience of senior players like Dinesh Karthik, has brought a renewed balance to RCB's batting.

List of Top Run Scorers After Virat Kohli

Kohli's impact on RCB goes beyond statistics. He is a true leader, inspiring his teammates with his work ethic and unwavering commitment to the team. However, his amount of passion and love for cricket is shared by a few other run-scorers as well.

Below is the list of the highest run-scorers in the Indian Premier League.

Name Season Matches Innings Runs Average Strike Rate
Virat Kohli 2008-2024 239 231 7361 37.36 130.16
Shikhar Dhawan 2008-2024 219 218 6684 35.36 127.16
David Warner 2009-2024 177 177 6426 41.45 139.9
Rohit Sharma 2008-2024 244 239 6254 29.63 130.15
Suresh Raina 2008-2021 205 200 5528 32.51 136.73
AB de Villiers 2008-2021 184 170 5162 39.7 151.68
MS Dhoni 2008-2024 251 218 5082 38.79 135.91
Claim Now Claim ₹1,000 Cricket Free Bonus! 💰